Sunday, June 17, 2018

An Evening of Kannada Poetry

Toto Funds the Arts 
Aakruti Books

are pleased to invite you to

​​Kavana Mattu Kavi NaDuve

​​An Evening of Kannada Poetry 

This evening of Kannada Poetry is the first event of the Retrospective series, which marks the 15th year of the TOTO Awards, and brings together previous TOTO awards winners and shortlisted artists. 

The poets Moulya M, Rajendra Prasad and Hema Nayak come together to read a selection of their poems that traces their journey and formative influences, and explores the themes that have made them the poets that they are.

The evening will be moderated by the novelist and poet Dr Kavyashree H.   

Date and Time: Saturday June 30, 2018 at 6:00 pm
Venue: Aakruti Books, No.31/1, 12th Main, 3rd Block, Rajajinagar (see map)

About the Poets:

Moulya M has a postgraduate degree in English Literature from Gulbarga University. She has been a guest lecturer in English Literature at the University of Mysore. When she isn't winning awards for her poetry, she is getting published by popular print and online publications. Moulya  has a keen interest in photography and has worked with Rangayana, Mysore as an actor for over a decade. Moulya won the TOTO for Creative Writing in Kannada in 2015.

Rajendra Prasad, or RP as he is popularly known, is a young businessman based in Mandya. His interests are many and various:  they range from the reading and writing of literature, especially poetry, carnatic music and history to Buddhism and Zen paintings. He is intensely passionate about philosophy and cooking. Since 2006, he has won several awards for his poetry and has many poetry collections to his credit. He is currently the editor of the literary magazine Sankathana. Rajendra won the TOTO for Creative Writing in Kannada in 2016.

Hema Nayak, born in Uttara Kannada's Ankola, holds a Master's degree in Physics from Mysore University. Hema was shortlisted for the 2018 TOTO Award for Creative Writing in Kannada. The first time she read her poems in public was at the TOTO Awards ceremony last January. This will be her second public reading. 

About the Moderator:

Novelist  Kavyashree H. is keenly interested in women's literature, feminist criticism, translations and poetry. She received her doctorate on 'Women Playwrights in Kannada: a literary and cultural investigation' from Kannada University, Hampi. She has written and directed several plays for children and has been a recipient of the 'Gudibande Poornima Dattanidhi' award for emerging women poets in Karnataka.

No comments: