Thursday, December 12, 2019

Toto Awards for English Creative Writing 2020: Shortlist

Five writers have been shortlisted for the 2020 Toto Awards for Creative Writing in English. They are (in no particular order):

1. Poorna Swami, Bengaluru

2. Tashan Cyrus Mehta, Mumbai

3. Ila Ananya, Bengaluru

4. Riddhi Dastidar, New Delhi

5. Noor Niyamat Singh, Bengaluru

The two winners will be announced at the Toto Awards function on 15 February 2020 in Bengaluru.   

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

The Toto Music Award 2020: Long-list

Sixteen musicians/bands have been long-listed for the Toto Music Award 2020. They are (in no particular order):

1. National Animal, Kolkata

2. Swadesi, Mumbai

3. Ahmer, Srinagar

4. Parshuraavan, Mumbai

5. JBABE, Chennai

6. Smalltalk, Mumbai

7. Noni-mouse, Mumbai

8. Kumail, Mumbai

9. The Mellow Turtle, Ranchi

10. Karshni, Mumbai

11. Hanita Bhambri, Delhi

12. Morning Mourning, New Delhi

13. Shashwat Bulusu, Baroda

14. Meera, Ahmedabad

15. Bowls, New Delhi

16. Mali, Mumbai

TFA congratulates the long-listed applicants and wishes them all the best! The shortlist will be announced next month.

Thursday, November 28, 2019

Toto Awards for Photography (2020): Long-list

Twenty-one applicants have been long-listed for the 2020 Toto Awards for Photography. They are (in no particular order):

1. Soumyabrata Roy, Tehatta, Dist Nadia, West Bengal

2. Soham Mitra, Birbhum, West Bengal

3. Sharan Devkar Shankar, Chennai

4. Santanu Dey, Kolkata

5. Richa Bhavanam, Bengaluru

6. Rajib Sengupta, Kolkata

7. Kush Kukreja, Gandhinagar

8. Jatin Gulati, Sonepat

9. Farhat S Lokhandwala, Bengaluru 

10. Arun, Chennai

11. Anuj Arora, New Delhi

12. Abhishek Anil, New Delhi

13. Vivek Mariappan, Chennai

14. Vikram Chaudhary, New Delhi

15. Sridhar Balasubramaniam, Coimbatore

16. Shashi Shankar, Gaya, Bihar

17. Saurav Khurana, Mumbai

18. Sarang Naik, Mumbai

19. Ritagnik Bhattacharya, Kolkata

20. Rakshita Mittal, Tinsukia, Assam

21.  Krithika S., Chennai

TFA congratulates the long-listed photographers and wishes them all the best! The shortlist will be announced later next month or in early January.

Sunday, November 24, 2019

Swati Simha's 'The Echoing Chamber'

Toto Funds the Arts 
& Abhinaya Tiranga  

are pleased to invite you to

Swati Simha’s play

 The Echoing Chamber 

performed by actor-singers
Shilpa Mudbi Kothakota and Pallavi M D
Directed by Pallavi M D 

Date and Time:  Sunday, 1 December 2019, 11 a.m.
Venue:  Abhinaya Taranga intimate theatre, 5th cross , A.N. Subbarao Road, Hanumantha Nagar, Bengaluru 560019

About the play
In October 1948, a year after the partition of India and Pakistan, another massacre occurred in central India. Tens and thousands were brutally slaughtered in the princely state of Hyderabad. Aurangabad, Bir, Nalagunda, Medak, Gulburga, Bidar, Nader, Osmanabad were the areas that experienced extreme bloodshed, rape and torture by the armed forces of the newly formed Indian state. The Sunderlal Committee report compiled after the massacre estimated the death toll to be anywhere between 27 and 40 thousand. This important incident has been absent in the collective memory of the nation – absent in our history books, absent in the stories we share, absent in our imagination of independence and democracy. The play is a dedication to our forgetfulness. 
The Echoing Chamber brings together subaltern voices and allows the audience to engage in an anachronistic reflection on the consequences of failing to recollect the making of the ‘nation’ and ‘national identity’. 

Swati Simha is one of the most exciting young playwrights to emerge from India in recent years. She is the author of several plays, many of which have been performed. She received her Masters from Shanghai Theatre Academy, China and is pursuing a PhD at the Centre for Comparative Politics and Political Theory at Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi. The Echoing Chamber won her the Toto Award for Creative Writing in 2019. She was one of the playwrights commissioned for the B!rth Festival at Royal Exchange, Manchester. Her play Flypaper Trap was written under the mentorship of Royal Court Theatre at the Writer’s Bloc residency.

Pallavi M D is a singer, actor, composer, editor, sound designer and filmmaker based in Bangalore. She has a degree in Psychology, English and Journalism from Bangalore University and a degree in Hindustani classical music from the Banaras Hindu University. She won the META Award for Best Actress for her one-woman performance in C Sharp C Blunt, and the Karnataka State Best Playback Singer Award for her song in the film Duniya. She was recently awarded the Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar for her work in the field of Bhav Sangeet. She is keen on multidisciplinary collaborations.

Shilpa Mudbi Kothakota is a filmmaker, theatre practitioner and vocalist born and brought up in Bangalore. She completed her Masters in Filmmaking from the University of Technology Sydney in 2008 and returned to Bangalore to make films on agriculture, rural development and women’s empowerment. She worked as a manager/actor/singer/songwriter for Indianostrum Theatre: a contemporary French-Tamil troupe. She is the founder and artistic director of the Urban Folk Project.